

President (2012)

Magaly Lavadenz

Loyola Marymount University

President-Elect (2012)

Cynthia Grutzik

California State University, Dominguez Hills

Vice-President for AACTE (2012)
Reyes Quezada

University of San Diego

Vice-President for ATE (2012)

Jose Lalas

University of Redlands

Past President (2012)

James Cantor

California State University, Dominguez Hills

Board of Directors

Juan Flores (2013)

California State University, Stanislaus

Deborah Hamm (2014)

California State University, Long Beach

Paula Motley (2014)

BTSA Induction Regional Director

Lettie Ramirez (2012) California State University, East Bay

Shannon Stanton (2014) Whittier College

Mona Thompson (2013) California State University,

California State University
Channel Islands
Keith Walters (2013)

California Baptist University

Desiree Zamorano (2012)

Occidental College Charles Zartman (2012)

California State University, Chico

Teacher Education Quarterly

Christian Faltis, Editor

University of California, Davis

Issues in Teacher Education
Suzanne SooHoo
& Joel Colbert, Co-Editors
Chapman University

Executive Secretary

Alan H. Jones (2013)
Caddo Gap Press
3145 Geary Blvd. PMB 275
San Francisco, CA 94118
415/666-3012
Fax 415/666-3552
alan.jones@ccte.org

California Council on Teacher Education

Announcing the CCTE Outstanding Dissertation Award

The California Council on Teacher Education has establish an award to honor authors of outstanding doctoral dissertations. It is hoped that an initial award will be presented in the Fall of 2012 and the deadline for submissions for consideration is June 1. Following are specifics related to this award:

- (1) CCTE has established the annual "CCTE Outstanding Dissertation Award" to recognize the authors of dissertations closely related to teacher education which have been accepted for the doctoral degree at a member institution of CCTE.
- (2) This new award will be made annually (when appropriate) as part of the CCTE awards luncheon at the Fall Conference, beginning in the Fall of 2012.
- (3) A special sub-committee of the CCTE Awards Committee has been created to review nominations for this award and to make an annual selection, with the understanding that such selection will be made only if the sub-committee views a nomination to be worthy of the award. The initial four members of the sub-committee, appointed by the Chair of the Awards Committee, are Paul Ammon of the University of California, Berkeley, Joel Colbert of Chapman University, Jose Lalas of the University of Redlands, and Thomas Nelson of the University of the Pacific, all faculty at doctoral granting institutions in California who work with candidates for doctoral degrees related to the teacher education field. Additional sub-committee members and reviewers will be recruited as needed.
- (4) The criteria for the award include: (a) the dissertation must have been prepared at a member institution of CCTE; (b) the dissertation must have resulted in the awarding of a doctoral degree during the most recent academic year (i.e., for an award at the Fall 2011 Conference, the degree would have been awarded during the 2010-2011 academic year); (c) the dissertation must be nominated for the award by a faculty member at a CCTE member institution; (d) the author of the dissertation must be or must become a paid student member of CCTE; (e) the topic of the dissertation must be directly related to teacher education; and (f) the dissertation must be of such quality that it is considered by the subcommittee to be a significant contribution to the knowledge base of teacher education.
- (5) The current nomination deadline is June 1, 2012. Those nominations received will be reviewed for potential selection of an awardee at the Fall 2012 Conference. Similar annual deadlines will occur on June 1 of each future year, again with potential presentations at Fall Conferences.
- (6) Nominations for the award are to include three copies of a cover letter with background information on the author and dissertation topic, including a rationale of why the dissertation meets the award criteria, plus four printed copies of the full dissertation document.

 Nominations are to be submitted to Alan H. Jones, CCTE Executive Secretary, by mail to 3145 Geary Boulevard, PMB 275, San Francisco, CA 94118.
- (7) Each recipient of the award will be honored at a CCTE Conference awards luncheon, will be reported on in the next issue of *CCNews* following the Conference, will be offered the opportunity to present information about the dissertation during one of the research presentation or poster session slots at the Conference when the award is presented, and will receive an award plaque from CCTE. The faculty member who served as adviser and chair for the dissertation will also be recognized by CCTE at the awards luncheon.